Tuesday, June 20, 2006

Bangkok

was quite an experience. It's my first family holiday in 5, 6, years? or more? i can't recall now, its been too long, but it was really enjoyable. I think i've been travelling so much with friends that i've forgotten just how relaxing it is being with my folks. what i mean is, being pampered by my folks when on holiday. you know how it is, they worry about you not getting enough rest, they feed you well, clothe you well, and most of all, in a place like Bangkok, shopping with them knows no boundaries. I suppose the biggest difference is that of responsibility. i felt like a kid again- accomodation, transport, even the keeping of my passport, all done, because they want to. In fact, i think they miss doing it so much they were getting a little obssessive at some point during the trip. okay, just my mother. but it was all good. good SQ flight, good comfortable hotel with large screens to catch the world cup and great location too, incredible food, wonderful shopping... but you know what i love most about bangkok? the people and the culture. land of a thousand smiles indeed, and their patrioticism towards the king... was fascinating. and shopping there was especially enjoyable because of their service staff- somehow, the people there are really gentle, and rarely pushy. they're truly good natured, can't speak for all of them, but the general vibe and energy- i love it tons. and the people there are really beautiful too; gorgeous girls, gorgeous boys. wonderful! i told my dad that if i were a guy, i'd love to marry a thai girl.

anyhow. here're some pictures. (:


this was absolutely delicious.


siam paragon: the biggest and newest shopping mall there.


the typical day jam in bangkok.


and i didn't leave bangkok without some romance! the bangkok eye! haha. met up with my friend there and we took it together. ;)

4 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

hey dear - whoa long posts (: anyway, i'm really happy for you that things are going great and you're feeling better, in general I mean. Just wanted to drop you a note, and let you know that I doubt we can meet up in the states this trip - almost went up to boston this weekend, but I doubt it, and the timing generally for nyc is just bad. But have a great trip there and I'll see you at home yeah? Have fun hon, take care.

hui.

6/21/2006 7:44 AM  
Blogger kenchin said...

Heyo jie jie! allooo! heyy bangkok looks really great! so cool! i wanna go too! I'll be back soon! next monday on the 26th! stay tuned!! we must meet up!

6/21/2006 2:01 PM  
Blogger starduest~ said...

heh.. the pic of the food looks darn good :D u are doing ok rite? :) we still hv to go ktv! haha

6/23/2006 6:52 PM  
Blogger -jb- said...

..... except you can't be certain that the Thai girl is, indeed, a Thai -girl- ....

7/07/2006 5:42 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home